History of the Building

The Federal Administrative Court has been located in the building of the former Imperial Court of Justice in Leipzig since 2002. The Imperial Court of Justice was the highest court of civil and criminal jurisdiction in the German Empire from 1879 to 1945. Its administration of justice and the architecture of the building reflect the chequered history of Germany during this period.

  • Not only does the foundation of the German Empire create political unity in Germany, it also lays the foundation for legal unity.

    The foundation of the German Empire installs more than political unity; it also starts the process of establishing legal unity. The fragmented legal systems that had existed until then are consolidated in the following years through the introduction of standard regulations for court organisation, proceedings, civil and criminal law, among other things.

  • The Imperial Court of Justice in Leipzig is created to assert legal unity.

    The Courts Constitution Act (Gerichtsverfassungsgesetz) of 1877 appoints the Imperial Court of Justice as the highest instance for civil and criminal disputes, tasked with enforcing this legal unity. Leipzig is chosen as the seat of the Imperial Court of Justice in a crucial vote in the Bundesrat (Council of the federal states), narrowly defeating Berlin, the location preferred by William I and Otto von Bismarck. Crown Prince at the time and later Emperor Frederick III, sees the defeat as a 'resounding slap in the royal face', but his Chancellor takes a more sanguine view, believing it important that smaller states occasionally outvote Prussia, especially in a purely political matter.

  • The Imperial Court of Justice is established with an act of state.

    It is founded officially during a ceremony in the auditorium of Leipzig University on 1 October 1879. The first President of the Court is Eduard von Simson, previously President of the Frankfurt Parliament, member of the Prussian State Parliament, President of the German Reichstag and the Court of Appeal in Frankfurt/Oder. The city of Leipzig provides the Court with the Georgenhalle complex as a provisional seat.

  • Ludwig Hoffmann and Peter Dybwad emerge victorious from the competition to construct the Imperial Court of Justice building.

    A total of 119 designs are submitted from Germany, Austria and Switzerland in the competition to construct the Imperial Court of Justice building. The eleven-strong competition jury unanimously endorses the plans by the architects Ludwig Hoffmann (1852–1932) and Peter Dybwad (1859–1921). Hoffmann is then commissioned by the Office for National Justice to complete the plans and oversee construction.

    Ludwig Hoffmann

    Ludwig Hoffmann is born in Darmstadt on 30 July 1852. He studies architecture at the Academy of Art in Kassel and the Building Academy in Berlin from 1873 to 1879. He passes the first state examination in 1879 and the second in 1884. The Imperial Court of Justice building is his first work. After its completion, he is elected head of the Municipal Planning and Building Control Office in Berlin in 1896, a position he holds until 1924. This period sees the construction of numerous hospitals (including Rudolf Virchow Clinic Wedding, Buch-West hospital, Moabit hospital), cultural centres (including Märkisches Museum, the Humboldt University annex, contribution to the construction of the Pergamon Museum), social housing (including the Alte Jakobstrasse orphanage) and administrative buildings (including Klosterstrasse Town Hall, Fischerbrücke registry office and the post office in Buch). Ludwig Hoffmann passes away in Berlin on 11 November 1932.

    Peter Dybwad

    Peter Dybwad is born in Christiania (now Oslo), Norway, on 17 February 1859. He studies at the Building Academy in Berlin from 1878 to 1882, becoming acquainted with Ludwig Hoffmann during this period. It is the start of a lifelong, close friendship. Peter Dybwad is also involved in the construction and completion of the Imperial Court of Justice building. He remains loyal to the Court, sitting on the Technical Advisory Board as consultant for structural issues until 1920. He sets up business as freelance architect in Leipzig once the Imperial Court of Justice building is finished, and is responsible for many residential and commercial properties, including businesses on Burgstrasse 1–5 and on Martin-Luther-Ring 20, as well as the Meyer & Co. bank on Thomaskirchhof 20, until his death on 13 October 1921.

  • The ground-breaking ceremony for construction of the Imperial Court of Justice building takes place on 31 October 1888 in the presence of William II, Albert of Saxony, the President of the Imperial Court of Justice and numerous guests of honour

  • William II inaugurates the Imperial Court of Justice building in an act symbolising the foundation of the Empire and the establishment of legal unity.

    William II inaugurates the Imperial Court of Justice building on 26 October 1895 in the presence of the Saxon king, the Reich Chancellor, the Presidents of the Reichstag and the Imperial Court of Justice and other representatives of the Empire, the federal states and the judiciary.

    Constructed in the style of historicism with touches of Italian and French archetypes, the building was and remains one of the most striking court buildings in Germany. Its architectural design contains manifold allusions to the national and legal unity of Germany, the importance of the law and its assertion by the judiciary. A virtual tour provides a striking impression [link]. The Reichstag in Berlin and the Imperial Court of Justice are the most important representative buildings marking the foundation of the German Empire.

  • Other courts are incorporated into the Imperial Court of Justice. The demise of the Weimar Republic is reflected in a raft of important cases.

    A number of other courts are incorporated into the Imperial Court of Justice during the Weimar Republic, including the Constitutional Court of the German Empire. It passes its most momentous judgement on 25 October 1932. In it the Court declared the appointment of Reich Chancellor Franz von Papen as Reich Commissioner for Prussia by the German President Paul von Hindenburg ('Prussian coup') to be largely consistent with the constitution. The Constitutional Court for the Protection of the Republic is established at the Imperial Court of Justice in 1922 in response to the assassination of Walther Rathenau; it is tasked with the criminal prosecution of attacks on members of the national or regional governments or high treason. Jurisdiction for these matters returns to the Imperial Court of Justice in 1927. Criminal proceedings argued before the Imperial Court of Justice and its incorporated courts evidence the heightening fragmentation and radicalisation of German society. Relevant examples include the criminal prosecution of participants in the ‘Kapp Putsch’ (1921) and of Rudolf Höss and Martin Bormann for the murder of Walther Kadow (1924), the ‘Ulm Reichswehr trial’ (1930) with the infamous 'oath of legality' by the witness Adolf Hitler, the trials of George Grosz for blasphemy (1930 and 1931) and the ‘Weltbühne Prozess’ against Carl von Ossietzky (1931).

  • The seizure of power by the National Socialists is felt immediately in the Imperial Court of Justice. Undesirable judges are dismissed, while others join the NSDAP.

    The Reich President appoints Adolf Hitler German Chancellor on 30 January 1933 and dissolves the Reichstag on 1 February 1933. A blaze engulfs the Reichstag building on 27 Feb-ruary 1933. The National Socialists immediately portray the fire as part of a communist revolt. The Decree of the Reich President for the Protection of the People and State ('Reichstag Fire Decree') of 28 February 1933 largely abrogates the basic rights of the constitution. The police and SA arrest opponents of the National Socialists in their tens of thousands. The NSDAP takes 43.9 per cent of the vote in the Reichstag elections of 5 March 1933. Seven judges of Jewish faith are forced into retirement the month after introduction of the Law for the Restoration of the Professional Civil Service. The first four judges in the Imperial Court of Justice join the NSDAP.

  • 21. September to 23. December 1933
    The Imperial Court of Justice sentences the Dutch national Marinus van der Lubbe to death for his part in the Reichstag fire, but acquits four communist co-defendants.

    Besides Marinus van der Lubbe, the President of the KPD parliamentary ¬group Ernst Torgler, the subsequent Bulgarian Prime Minister Georgi Dimitroff and two other Bulgarian communists stand trial before the Imperial Court of Justice. The Imperial Court of Justice defies the wishes of the National Socialists and does not stage the proceedings as a show trial with expedited sentencing of all defendants to death. Instead it acquits the four communist co-defendants after several weeks of arguments, although the trial would still not have satisfied the principles of rule of law. The Court solely sentences Marinus van der Lubbe to death – although the retroactive introduction of capital punishment was inadmissible under contemporary legal principles as well. In response, the German government strips the Imperial Court of Justice of its competency to hear cases of treason and high treason, transferring it instead to the newly established People's Court in Berlin.

    Van der Lubbe's family try to have the sentence set aside several times after 1945, but in vain. Not until 2007 does the Federal Public Prosecutor's Office confirm that the ruling is annulled by the Act for the Repeal of Unlawful National Socialist Verdicts in Criminal Justice of 25 August 1998. Whether van der Lubbe laid the fire himself, or whether he was supported or exploited by the National Socialists, remains a contested point to this day.

  • The activities of the Imperial Court of Justice come to an end with the arrival of the American troops. Any assessment of its dispensation of justice from 1879 to 1945 is ambivalent.

    The activities of the Imperial Court of Justice come to an end in April 1945 when the American troops enter Leipzig. The last President of the Imperial Court of Justice, Erwin Bumke, commits suicide. The city is handed over to the Soviet occupying forces, who immediately arrest the 38 remaining judges of the Imperial Court of Justice. Only three of the prisoners survive their camp internment.

    A summarised assessment of the dispensation of justice by the Imperial Court of Justice is ambivalent. From its foundation until 1933, the Court defines principles in a significant number of ground-breaking rulings in civil law cases, many of which remain valid to this day. The reputation it builds on this basis extends far beyond the borders of Germany. But however pioneering this dispensation of justice remains, the Court's decline following the seizure of power by the National Socialists is no less calamitous. The Imperial Court of Justice willingly surrenders civil law to the inhumane ethnic ideologies. As early as 1934, for instance, the Court decides that the husband's ignorance of his wife's membership of the 'Jewish race' entitles him to contest the marriage.

    Its adjudication in criminal law reveals an even more horrific development from 1933 on. The interpretation of principles that are recognised to this day is subjugated entirely to National Socialist injustice after the seizure of power. Numerous rulings on the so-called laws to protect German blood are merely one instance of the willingness to open the floodgates of injustice through an excessively generous interpretation of the law, even over and above its actual wording.

    Although there are cases in which the Court withstood the National Socialist meddling. And while personages such as Hans von Dohnanyi, judge at the Imperial Court of Justice from 1938 to 1941, demonstrate that not all of the judiciary were willing to kowtow to the heinous regime. They remain nevertheless the exceptions.

  • The building is partially restored and used as a museum and for other purposes during the GDR era.

    The Museum of Fine Arts moves into the Imperial Court of Justice building in May 1952. The Georgi Dimitroff Museum opens there the following month, presenting the Reichstag Fire Trial and the defence of Dimitroff in a reconstruction of the original furnishings in the Great Courtroom and in other details. Other institutions also use the building in the following years. Among them is the DEFA film studio, which opens recording facilities in the former ceremonial hall. Severely damaged during the war, the building was partially restored in the early 1950s. Further reconstruction of the court building followed between 1980 and 1983, especially restoration of the Great Courtroom and the cupola hall.

  • After reunification, the Bundestag decides that the Imperial Court of Justice building will be used by the Federal Administrative Court.

    In May 1992, following accession of the GDR to the Federal Republic of Germany, the independent Federalism commission recommends relocation of the Federal Administrative Court from Berlin to Leipzig. The Bundestag notes and approves the resolution of the commission the following month. It finally decides on Leipzig as the new seat of the Federal Administrative Court in November 1997.

  • Extensive renovation and modernisation of the building take four years.

    Comprehensive refurbishment and reconstruction of the building between 1998 and 2002 largely restore the original condition, adapting it for use as the Federal Administrative Court. Among other measures, a fourth level is added to the building, and it is modified for barrier-free access. The costs of refurbishment and reconstruction are €65.5 million.

  • The Federal Administrative Court opens its doors for business in the former home of the Imperial Court of Justice in August 2002.

    The Federal Administrative Court starts work in the Imperial Court of Justice building on 26 August 2002. The official inauguration is held on 12 September 2002, returning the building to its original purpose as seat of a supreme German court after 57 years.

Die Geschichte des Gebäudes

  • Die Gründung des Deutschen Reichs stellt nicht nur die politische Einheit Deutschlands her, sondern schafft auch die Voraussetzungen für dessen rechtliche Einheit.
    "Die Proklamierung des deutschen Kaiserreiches (18. Januar 1871)", Maler: Anton von Werner, Öl auf Leinwand, 1885.

    Mit der Gründung des Deutschen Reichs wird nicht nur die politische Einheit Deutschlands hergestellt, sondern auch mit der Schaffung der rechtlichen Einheit Deutschlands begonnen. Die bis dahin bestehende Rechtszersplitterung wird in den folgenden Jahren beseitigt, unter anderem durch eine einheitliche Regelung der Gerichtsorganisation, des gerichtlichen Verfahrens sowie des Straf- und des Zivilrechts.

  • Zur Durchsetzung der rechtlichen Einheit wird das Reichsgericht in Leipzig geschaffen.
    Das Gerichtsverfassungsgesetz, die Civilprozessordnung und die Konkursordnung für das Deutsche Reich: amtliche Ausgabe mit Sachregister. – Berlin: Reimer, 1877
    Das Gerichtsverfassungsgesetz, die Civilprozessordnung und die Konkursordnung für das Deutsche Reich: amtliche Ausgabe mit Sachregister. – Berlin: Reimer, 1877

    Zur Durchsetzung dieser Rechtseinheit bestimmt das Gerichtsverfassungsgesetz von 1877 das Reichsgericht als oberstes Gericht in bürgerlichrechtlichen Streitigkeiten und in Strafsachen. Nach einer Kampfabstimmung im Bundesrat, bei der das von Wilhelm I. und Otto von Bismarck favorisierte Berlin knapp unterliegt, erhält das Reichsgericht seinen Sitz in Leipzig. Was der damalige Kronprinz (und spätere Kaiser Friedrich III.) als „Maulschellenschlag in’s kaiserliche Angesicht“ empfindet, sieht der Reichskanzler gelassener: Es sei für die kleineren Staaten wichtig gewesen, auch einmal Preußen zu überstimmen, indes in einer politisch unwichtigen Angelegenheit.

  • Das Reichsgericht wird mit einem feierlichen Festakt gegründet.
    Aus: „Illustrirte Zeitung Leipzig“ vom 18. Oktober 1879, Stadtgeschichtliches Museum Leipzig
    Aus: „Illustrirte Zeitung Leipzig“ vom 18. Oktober 1879, Stadtgeschichtliches Museum Leipzig

    Mit einem Festakt in der Aula der Universität Leipzig wird das Reichsgericht am 1. Oktober 1879 offiziell gegründet. Erster Präsident des Reichsgerichts ist Eduard von Simson, vormals Präsident der Frankfurter Nationalversammlung, Abgeordneter des preußischen Landtags und Präsident des Deutschen Reichstags sowie des Appellationsgerichts in Frankfurt/Oder. Als provisorisches Dienstgebäude stellt die Stadt Leipzig dem Gericht die sogenannte Georgenhalle zur Verfügung.

  • Ludwig Hoffmann und Peter Dybwad gewinnen den Wettbewerb zur Errichtung des Reichsgerichtsgebäudes.
    Aus: Leipziger Gerichtszeitung
    Aus: Leipziger Gerichtszeitung

    Für den Wettbewerb zur Errichtung des Reichsgerichts gehen 119 Entwürfe aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz ein. Zum Sieger wählt die elfköpfige Wettbewerbsjury einstimmig den Beitrag der Architekten Ludwig Hoffmann (1852-1932) und Peter Dybwad (1859-1921). Das Reichsjustizamt beauftragt nachfolgend Hoffmann mit der weiteren Bearbeitung des Entwurfs und dessen Ausführung.

  • Grundsteinlegung zum Reichsgericht 31.10.1888, Stadtgeschichtliches Museum Leipzig
    Grundsteinlegung zum Reichsgericht 31.10.1888, Stadtgeschichtliches Museum Leipzig

    In Anwesenheit Wilhelm II., König Alberts von Sachsen, des Reichsgerichtspräsidenten und zahlreicher Ehrengäste erfolgt am 31. Oktober 1888 die feierliche Grundsteinlegung für den Bau des Reichsgerichtsgebäudes.

  • Wilhelm II. weiht das Reichsgerichtsgebäude ein, welches gleichermaßen die Reichsgründung und die Rechtseinheit symbolisiert.
    Schlußsteinlegung im Reichsgerichtsgebäude zu Leipzig, Stadtgeschichtliches Museum Leipzig
    Schlußsteinlegung im Reichsgerichtsgebäude zu Leipzig, Stadtgeschichtliches Museum Leipzig

    Am 26. Oktober 1895 weiht Wilhelm II. das Reichsgerichtsgebäude im Beisein des sächsischen Königs, des Reichskanzlers, des Reichstags- und des Reichsgerichtspräsidenten sowie weiterer Vertreter des Reichs, der Länder und der Justiz ein.

    Das im Stile des Historismus mit Anleihen an italienische und französische Vorbilder errichtete Gebäude ist damals wie heute eines der beeindruckendsten Gerichtsgebäude Deutschlands. Seine architektonische Gestaltung symbolisiert in vielfacher Weise die nationale und rechtliche Einheit Deutschlands sowie die Bedeutung des Rechts und seiner richterlichen Durchsetzung. Einen Eindruck hiervon vermittelt ein virtueller Rundgang. Gemeinsam mit dem Reichstag in Berlin ist das Reichsgericht das wichtigste Repräsentationsgebäude der Reichsgründung.

  • Dem Reichsgericht werden weitere Gerichte angegliedert. Der Niedergang der Weimarer Republik spiegelt sich in bedeutsamen Verfahren wider.
    Zimmer der Rechtsanwälte
    Zimmer der Rechtsanwälte

    In der Weimarer Republik werden dem Reichsgericht weitere Gerichte angegliedert, unter anderem der Staatsgerichtshof für das Deutsche Reich. Sein geschichtlich bedeutsamstes Urteil fällt dieser am 25. Oktober 1932. Darin erklärte er die Bestellung des Reichskanzlers Franz von Papen zum Reichkommissar für das Land Preußen durch den Reichspräsidenten Paul von Hindenburg („Preußenschlag“) in weiten Teilen für mit der Reichsverfassung vereinbar.

    Nach der Ermordung Walther Rathenaus wird 1922 für die strafrechtliche Ahnung von Angriffen gegen Mitglieder der Reichs- oder einer Landesregierung sowie für Hochverratsprozesse beim Reichsgericht der Staatsgerichtshof zum Schutze der Republik errichtet. 1927 werden dessen Zuständigkeiten auf das Reichsgericht zurück übertragen.

    Die Strafverfahren vor dem Reichsgericht und den ihm angegliederten Gerichten spiegeln die zunehmende Spaltung und Radikalisierung der deutschen Gesellschaft wider. Hierfür stehen beispielhaft die Strafverfahren gegen Beteiligte des Kapp-Putsches (1921) und des Parchimer Fememordes mit den Angeklagten Rudolf Höß und Martin Bormann (1924), der Ulmer Reichswehrprozess (1930) mit dem berüchtigten „Legalitätseid“ des Zeugen Adolf Hitler, die Verfahren gegen George Grosz wegen Gotteslästerung (1930 und 1931) sowie der Weltbühne-Prozess gegen Carl von Ossietzky (1931).

  • Die Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten wirkt sich auch im Reichsgericht umgehend aus: Missliebige Richter werden entlassen, andere treten der NSDAP bei.
    Reichsgesetzblatt (RGBl) vom 28. Februar 1933
    Reichsgesetzblatt (RGBl) vom 28. Februar 1933

    Der Reichspräsident ernennt am 30. Januar 1933 Adolf Hitler zum Reichskanzler und löst am 1. Februar 1933 den Reichstag auf. Am Abend des 27. Februar 1933 steht das Reichstagsgebäude in Flammen. Die Nationalsozialisten stellen den Brand umgehend als Teil eines kommunistischen Aufstands dar. Die Verordnung des Reichspräsidenten zum Schutz von Volk und Staat vom 28. Februar 1933 (sogenannte Reichstagsbrandverordnung) setzt die wesentlichen Grundrechte der Verfassung außer Kraft. Polizei und SA verhaften zehntausende Gegner der Nationalsozialisten. Bei den Reichstagswahlen vom 5. März 1933 erhält die NSDAP 43,9 Prozent der Stimmen. Aufgrund des im darauffolgenden Monat verkündeten Gesetzes zur Wiederherstellung des Berufsbeamtentums werden sieben Reichsgerichtsräte jüdischen Glaubens zwangspensioniert. Die ersten vier Richter des Reichsgerichts treten der NSDAP bei.

  • Wegen des Reichstagsbrandes verurteilt das Reichsgericht den Niederländer Marinus van der Lubbe zum Tode, spricht jedoch die vier mitangeklagten Kommunisten frei.
    Reichstagsbrandprozess: Blick in den Verhandlungssaal, Stadtgeschichtliches Museum Leipzig
    Reichstagsbrandprozess: Blick in den Verhandlungssaal, Stadtgeschichtliches Museum Leipzig

    Angeklagt werden vor dem Reichsgericht neben Marinus van der Lubbe der Vorsitzende der KPD-Reichstagsfraktion Ernst Torgler, der spätere bulgarische Ministerpräsident Georgi Dimitroff sowie zwei weitere bulgarische Kommunisten. Das Reichsgericht inszeniert das Verfahren entgegen der Wünsche der Nationalsozialisten nicht als Schauprozess mit einer schnellen Verurteilung aller Angeklagten zum Tode. Stattdessen spricht es nach mehrwöchiger Verhandlung, die rechtsstaatlichen Anforderungen gleichwohl nicht genügt, die vier kommunistischen Angeklagten frei. Allein Marinus van der Lubbe verurteilt das Gericht – trotz der auch nach damaligen Rechtsgrundsätzen unzulässigen rückwirkenden Einführung der Todesstrafe – zum Tode. Infolgedessen entzieht die Reichsregierung dem Reichsgericht die Zuständigkeit für Verfahren wegen Hoch- und Landesverrats und überträgt diese dem neu gebildeten Volksgerichtshof in Berlin.

    Mehrere Versuche der Familie van der Lubbe nach 1945, die Verurteilung aufzuheben, scheitern. Erst im Jahr 2007 stellt die Bundesanwaltschaft fest, dass das Urteil aufgrund des Gesetzes zur Aufhebung nationalsozialistischer Unrechtsurteile in der Strafrechtspflege vom 25. August 1998 aufgehoben ist. Ob van der Lubbe den Brand alleine gelegt hat oder ob er von den Nationalsozialisten unterstützt oder instrumentalisiert wurde, ist bis heute umstritten.

  • Mit dem Einmarsch amerikanischer Truppen endet die Tätigkeit des Reichsgerichts. Eine Würdigung seiner Rechtsprechung von 1879 bis 1945 fällt zwiespältig aus.
    Kriegsschäden an der Südost-Ecke
    Kriegsschäden an der Südost-Ecke

    Die Tätigkeit des Reichsgerichts endet mit dem Einmarsch der amerikanischen Armee in Leipzig im April 1945. Der letzte Präsident des Reichsgerichts, Erwin Bumke, begeht Selbstmord. Nach der Übergabe der Stadt an die sowjetischen Besatzungstruppen verhaften diese in Leipzig verbliebene 38 Richter und Reichsanwälte des Reichsgerichts. Nur drei der Inhaftierten überleben die Lagerhaft.

    Eine zusammenfassende Würdigung der Rechtsprechung des Reichsgerichts fällt zwiespältig aus. Von seiner Gründung bis zum Jahr 1933 prägt das Gericht in einer Vielzahl bahnbrechender zivilrechtlicher Entscheidungen Grundsätze, von denen viele bis heute gültig sind. Sein hierauf gründender Ruf reicht weit über Deutschlands Grenzen hinaus. So wegweisend die Rechtsprechung bis dahin ist, umso unheilvoller ist ihr Niedergang nach der Machtergreifung der Nationalsozialisten: Bereitwillig öffnet das Reichsgericht das Zivilrecht der menschenverachtenden völkischen Ideologie. So entscheidet es bereits 1934, eine Unkenntnis des Ehegatten von der Zugehörigkeit des anderen Ehegatten zur „jüdischen Rasse“ berechtige zur Anfechtung der Eheschließung.

    Eine ähnliche, indes nach 1933 noch schlimmere Entwicklung zeigt seine Rechtsprechung zum Strafrecht. Auf die Herleitung von Grundsätzen, welche auch heute noch Anerkennung erfahren, folgt nach der Machtergreifung eine völlige Unterwerfung unter das nationalsozialistische Unrecht. Zahlreiche Entscheidungen zur sogenannten Blutschutzgesetzgebung sind nur ein Beispiel für die Bereitschaft, diesem durch eine exzessive Gesetzesauslegung weitreichende - sogar über den Wortlaut hinausgehende - Geltung zu verschaffen.

    Zwar gibt es auch Fälle, in denen sich das Gericht einer Einflussnahme der Nationalsozialisten widersetzt. Auch zeigen Persönlichkeiten wie Hans von Dohnanyi, von 1938 bis 1941 Richter am Reichsgericht, dass sich nicht alle Richter dem Unrechtsregime widerstandslos hingeben. Hierbei handelt es sich indes um Ausnahmen.

  • Zu DDR-Zeiten wird das Gebäude teilweise restauriert und unter anderem als Museum genutzt.
    Blick auf eine Demonstrationsveranstaltung vor dem Georgi-Dimitroff-Museum, Stadtgeschichtliches Museum Leipzig
    Blick auf eine Demonstrationsveranstaltung vor dem Georgi-Dimitroff-Museum, Stadtgeschichtliches Museum Leipzig

    Im Mai 1952 zieht das Museum der bildenden Künste in das Reichsgerichtsgebäude. Im darauffolgenden Monat wird dort das Georgi-Dimitroff-Museum eröffnet, welches - unter anderem durch eine Rekonstruktion der Möblierung des Großen Sitzungssaals - den Reichstagsbrandprozess sowie die Verteidigung Dimitroffs darstellt. Nachfolgend nutzen weitere Institutionen das Gebäude. Unter anderem richtet die DEFA im ehemaligen Festsaal ein Tonstudio ein. Nachdem das stark kriegsbeschädigte Gebäude bereits Anfang der 1950er Jahre in Teilen wieder hergestellt worden war, erfolgt zwischen 1980 und 1983 eine weitere Restaurierung des Gerichtsgebäudes, insbesondere des Großen Sitzungssaals und der Kuppelhalle.

  • Nach der Wiedervereinigung entscheidet der Bundestag, dass das Reichsgerichtsgebäude künftig durch das Bundesverwaltungsgericht genutzt wird.
    Ehemaliges Dienstgebäude des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts in Berlin, Hardenbergstr. 31
    Ehemaliges Dienstgebäude des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts in Berlin, Hardenbergstr. 31

    Nach dem Beitritt der DDR zur Bundesrepublik Deutschland empfiehlt die Föderalismuskommission des Bundes und der Länder im Mai 1992 den Umzug des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts von Berlin nach Leipzig. Der Bundestag nimmt die Beschlüsse der Kommission im darauffolgenden Monat zustimmend zur Kenntnis. Im November 1997 bestimmt er endgültig Leipzig zum neuen Sitz des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts.

  • In vierjähriger Bauzeit wird das Gebäude umfassend restauriert und modernisiert.
    Der Festsaal der ehemaligen Präsidentenwohnung vor Beginn der Restaurierungsarbeiten
    Der Festsaal der ehemaligen Präsidentenwohnung vor Beginn der Restaurierungsarbeiten

    Durch umfassende Sanierungs- und Umbaumaßnahmen wird das Gebäude zwischen 1998 und 2002 weitestgehend in seinen ursprünglichen Zustand versetzt und den Bedürfnissen für eine Nutzung durch das Bundesverwaltungsgericht angepasst. Unter anderem wird das Gebäude um ein viertes Geschoss ergänzt und barrierefrei ausgestaltet. Die Kosten für Sanierung und Umbau belaufen sich auf 65,5 Mio. €.

  • Im August 2002 nimmt das Bundesverwaltungsgericht seine Tätigkeit im Reichsgerichtsgebäude auf.
    Front des Gebäudes des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts
    Front des Gebäudes des Bundesverwaltungsgerichts

    Am 26. August 2002 nimmt das Bundesverwaltungsgericht seine Tätigkeit im Reichsgerichtsgebäude auf. Die feierliche Einweihung findet am 12. September 2002 statt. Damit wird das Gebäude nach 57 Jahren wieder für ein oberstes deutsches Gericht genutzt.